Books Like People We Meet on Vacation

10 Books Like People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry

0 Shares
0
0

When I think of books like People We Meet on Vacation, I picture something light, fun, and easy to read. A story that will provide beach time entertainment.

If you are into the description above, below are ten other similar books that you might enjoy.

Books Like People We Meet on Vacation

Love At First by Kate Clayborn

1. Love At First by Kate Clayborn

Love At First is similar to People We Meet on Vacation, a slow burn with beautifully written prose and an ache of tenderness.


Sixteen years ago, Will Sterling heard the girl of his dreams while standing beneath an apartment building balcony. Since then, he’s put so much of his past behind him.

Now an unexpected inheritance has brought him back to that same address, where he plans to offload his new property and get back to his regular life as an overworked doctor. Instead, he encounters Nora Clarke—the girl who was once so familiar.

Despite her surprise at her reaction to handsome, curious Will and their whispered pre-dawn conversations, she won’t let his plans ruin the quirky, close-knit building she loves so much.

Bound by her loyalty to her adored grandmother, she sets out to foil his efforts with a little light sabotage.

But beneath the surface of their feud is an undeniable connection. Can they ever overcome their differences and find happiness together?

Just Last Night by Mhairi Mcfarlane

2. Just Last Night by Mhairi Mcfarlane

Like People We Meet on Vacation, Just Last Night by Mhairi McFarlane is a fun read and will leave you teary-eyed.


Friends for over fifteen years, Eve, Justin, Susie, and Ed, have gotten together every Thursday night for bar trivia.

But as they approach their thirties, Eve is starting to wonder if they’re too comfortable with one another.

She still has feelings for Ed; maybe she should have let go of those long ago. But she can’t stop thinking about what could have been — and Ed is probably there with her.

And then, one night, everything changes.

With startling revelations exposed and old flames rekindled, Eve begins to question who really knows whom best after all.

Beach Read by Emily Henry

3. Books Like People We Meet on Vacation - Beach Read by Emily Henry

Written by the same author, Beach Read contains all elements you expect from Emily Henry. It’s another heart-wrenching, funny, and witty story.


August Everett is a celebrated author of literary fiction.

January Andrews writes bestselling romance.

They’re total opposites, but when they strike a deal designed to force them out of their creative ruts, they find that their differences bring them closer.

One Day by David Nicholls

4. One Day by David Nicholls

One of the other books like People We Meet on Vacation is One Day. The book is both enjoyable and heartbreaking, so be prepared if you’re only looking for a fun time.

If you find yourself wanting to read more poignant stories, I previously made a list of recommendations for disheartening books.


It is 1988, and Dexter Mayhew and Emma Morley have just met.

One day together leads to twenty years of snapshots, as Dex and Em face squabbles, fights, hopes and missed opportunities, laughter and tears.

Together, they must come to grips with the nature of love and life itself.

Lovelight Farms by B.K. Borison

5. Lovelight Farms by B.K. Borison

The two main characters in Lovelight Farms have a sweet relationship and have been best friends for quite some years. You’ll love reading about them.


Lovelight Farms was not the magical place Stella Bloom remembered from her childhood.

The Christmas tree farm has been in her family since she was a kid, but it’s falling apart because of financial woes and a hostile takeover by a family of raccoons.

She entered a contest with instafamous influencer Evelyn St. James for publicity and $100,000 cash prize money to save Lovelight Farms from ruin. Still, there’s just one problem: she lied on the application and said she owns Lovelight Farms with her boyfriend.

Only … there is no boyfriend.

Enter best friend Luka Peters, who just came home and somehow ended up with a farm … and a serious girlfriend?

When We’re Thirty by Casey Dembowski

6. Books Like People We Meet on Vacation - When We’re Thirty by Casey Dembowski

When We’re Thirty is a story of estranged college friends who reconnect years later. It’s a sweet and fun closed-door romance.


Hannah and Will made a pact when they graduated from college: if neither of them finds their soulmates by their thirtieth birthday, then they will marry each other.

Years later, Hannah is surprised to open the door and find Will on bended knee on her doormat.

While the Sun Shines by Kit Oliver

7. While the Sun Shines by Kit Oliver

While the Sun Shines is a very cozy read, perfect if you’re looking for books like People We Meet on Vacation. It is s a contemporary romance about a shy male lead who learns how to get his life together with a smart female lead.


Drew and Penny have been friends since high school. They live together, hang out together — and now commiserate about the fact that two of their other roommates have fallen in love.

As their foursome shrinks to two, Drew must decide what he wants from Penny before it’s too late.

Can he admit his feelings while keeping his focus on the family farm?

And will Penny be able to forgive him if she learns he kept something from her all these years?

The Guy on the Right by Kate Stewart

8. The Guy on the Right by Kate Stewart

The Guy on the Right is a beautiful friends-to-lovers novel about two unlikely people who find each other in the most unfortunate circumstances.

Despite their differences, they are perfect for each other and help one another grow into their own people.

It’s written beautifully, with refreshingly genuine characters.


Theo has been in love before, but it didn’t work out, and he’s still hurting from it.

He doesn’t think he can trust anyone again, so he keeps himself to himself most of the time.

When fate brings him into contact with Laney, though, he finds that maybe his heart isn’t as hardened as he thought it was.

The Road Trip by Beth O’Leary

9. Books Like People We Meet on Vacation - The Road Trip by Beth O’Leary

It might not be for everyone, but The Road Trip is one of the lovely books similar to People We Meet on Vacation.


Dylan and Addie fell in love four years ago under the Provence sun. Wealthy Oxford student Dylan was staying at his friend Cherry’s enormous French villa; wild child Addie was spending her summer as the on-site caretaker.

Two years ago, their relationship officially ended, and they haven’t spoken since.

But today, they’re forced to confront the choices they made that tore them apart — and ask themselves whether those decisions were right after all.

Vince & Joy by Lisa Jewell

10. Vince & Joy by Lisa Jewell

Vince & Joy is a light-hearted romance. It’s tamer than most contemporary romances. But it’s still a good read.


Vince and Joy’s story begins in the 1980s when they meet during their teenagers. They fall desperately in love and never quite say goodbye.

Nearly twenty years later, they begin to wonder if their long-ago romance was the enduring love they’ve been looking for.

Wrapping Up

The similarities between the books above may be subtle, but I hope you’ll find books on the list above that pique your interest and give you similar vibes.

For more romance book recommendations, check my other post about books like The Love Hypothesis.

0 Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.