Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea

12 Comforting Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea

0 Shares
0
0

The House in the Cerulean Sea by T.J. Klune is likely one of the most comforting books I’ve ever read.

And I’m a big fan of comfort books — books that are great to read when you’re feeling under the weather.

So, in the spirit of that, I want to share twelve books like The House in the Cerulean Sea that will comfort you when you’re feeling not-so-wonderful.

Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea

Legends and Lattes by Travis Baldree

Legends and Lattes by Travis Baldree

Legends and Lattes is a sweet and heartwarming read that will give you similar vibes to The House in the Cerulean Sea. The book has a soft fantasy element where the characters are not human beings but mystical creatures. But the story is so mundane which makes this book really interesting.


After raising hell and packing steel for decades, Viv, a retired orc barbarian, hopes to open a new chapter in her life, so she decides to open the first coffee shop ever in the city of Thune.

Her hopes to make enough money to settle down and retire from a life of adventure face some unexpected problems when old enemies threaten to upset her plans.

To make her dream come true, she must learn how to get along with others and develop a way to make it work.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet is an optimistic novel with a large cast of sweet and well-developed characters. Basically, like The House in the Cerulean Sea, it gives the reader a big warm hug.


Rosemary Harper joins the crew of the aging Wayfarer in hopes of finding some distance from her past. She soon discovers that the ship’s diverse crew is full of interesting and kind people, including Sissix, the exotic reptilian pilot; Kizzy and Jenks, who keep the ship running; and Ashby, their noble captain.

The ship is always a mess — it’s Rosemary’s dream come true. But things are about to get dangerous when the crew takes on a job tunneling wormholes through space.

The mission will earn them a ton of cash, but at what cost?

On this faraway planet, an assortment of mishaps teaches Rosemary how to rely on the crew — and she realizes having a family isn’t necessarily the worst thing in the universe.

Riddle-Master Series by Patricia A. McKillip

Riddle-Master series by Patricia A. McKillip

I guarantee that The Riddle-Master series will evoke the same feelings as when you’re reading The House in the Cerulean Sea, especially if you’re a fan of classic fantasy.

Speaking of riddles, if you want to read books that feel like it, you might want to check my recommendations about books like House of Leaves.


Long ago, wizards vanished from the world, leaving all knowledge hidden in riddles.

Prince Morgon of Hed staked his life on winning a crown from the dead Lord of Aum, proving himself a master of such riddles. But now, he was forced to flee to hostile kingdoms with evil forces threatening him.

Along the way, shape changers started replacing his friends until no man could be trusted. He had strange encounters and terrifying adventures while seeking out his ultimate destiny marked by the three stars on his forehead.

Under the Whispering Door by T.J. Klune

Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea - Under the Whispering Door by T.J. Klune

Under the Whispering Door, by the same author as The House in the Cerulean Sea, is actually a different kind of story. It’s a little more serious than its predecessor, but they’re equally comforting in their own ways.


Wallace is not convinced he’s dead when a reaper shows up at his own funeral.

When Hugo, the owner of a peculiar tea shop, promises to help him cross over, Wallace decides he’s definitely dead.

But because he’s not ready to abandon the life he barely lived, Wallace sets about living a lifetime in seven days.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Like The House in the Cerulean Sea, Howl’s Moving Castle is also a cozy tale that will warm your heart.


Sophie Hatter, a young girl living in the pleasant town of Market Chipping, is destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate.

But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch of the Waste, Sophie finds herself under a horrid spell that transforms her into an old lady.

In order to break this enchantment and return to her true form, Sophie must handle the heartless Wizard Howl, strike a bargain with a fire demon, and meet the Witch of the Waste head-on.

Along the way, she discovers that there’s far more to Howl—and herself—than first meets the eye.

The Heretics Guide to Homecoming by Sienna Tristen

The Heretics Guide to Homecoming by Sienna Tristen

The Heretics Guide to Homecoming is a book that covers heavy topics in a way that’s comforting, even when it’s painful.


Ronoah Genoveffa Elizzi-denna Pilanovani has lived an unusual life.

He was raised in a city of sand and stone in the Acharrioni desert, but he’s never felt at home there.

Now that he has left his homeland behind, Ronoah is anxious about how he will live his life from this point on.

Fortunately, Ronoah meets Reilin who takes him on his journey across continents and cultures. With Reillin’s help, Ronoah goes on a journey to be able to discover who he really is.

The Temeraire Series by Naomi Novik

The Temeraire series by Naomi Novik

The plot of The Temeraire series revolves around war, but with some touching scenes where William and Temeraire develop a family-like bond — just like The House in the Cerulean Sea.

You will find it heartwarming to see William and Temeraire get along so well in this series.


Captain Will Laurence is serving honorably in the British Navy when his ship captures a French frigate harboring an unusual cargo-an inestimable dragon egg.

When the egg hatches, Laurence unexpectedly becomes master of the young dragon Temeraire. Together, he finds himself on a remarkable journey that will alter his orderly life and the course of history.

Dragon Kin Series by Audrey Faye

Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea - Dragon Kin series by Audrey Faye

By addressing some past traumas and challenges its characters have faced, the Dragon Kin series is still a sweet and cuddly story overall.


In this whimsical tale, a young elf girl is accidentally stranded in a forest one winter’s night.

When she finds a dragon egg in a tree, she decides to keep it, without knowing it belongs to a dragon.

Quarters Series by Tanya Huff

Quarters series by Tanya Huff

Tanya Huff has written a number of works that are comforting, including her Quarters series.

In the series, calling the kigh is an incredibly powerful magical skill. Only bards born with the gift can learn to summon these spirits of earth, air, fire and water to do their bidding.

But even a talented bard like Princess Annice must study at the Bardic Hall for years before mastering this art. Yet it was too strong a call for even her to resist: she had to become a bard — even if it meant giving up her royal privileges and renouncing her claim to the throne.

For Annice, the story might have been different if she’d foreseen that ten years later she must flee the King’s guards after she becomes involved with the Duc of Ohrid.

She is guilty of treason for giving birth to a child without royal consent and aiding the Duc’s escape from prison.

Now, Annice’s only hope lies in tracking down and bringing to justice her enemy, who has masterminded the downfall of the Duc.

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

As with The House in the Cerulean Sea, Good Omens is full of funny and endearing characters. It’s a delightful book that will make you smile. In fact, there’s a Lucy in it too!


The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch is the world’s only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655. It states that the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.

So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan.

Unless an angel and a demon — both of whom have lived amongst Earth’s mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle — are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.

Fairyland Series by Catherynne M. Valente

Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea - Fairyland series by Catherynne M. Valente

Catherynne M. Valente’s Fairyland series, which includes The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, is whimsical and lighthearted. It’s yet another good read if you’re looking for something similar to The House in the Cerulean Sea.


Twelve-year-old September lives in Omaha, but she is about to embark on a fantastic adventure.

Her father has gone to war, and her mother has left for work, leaving September alone.

On her way through the kitchen one night, September is met at the window by a Green Wind (taking the form of a gentleman in a green jacket), who invites her on an adventure.

She learns that she must retrieve a talisman from the enchanted woods so that a fickle Marquess will leave the inhabitants of Fairyland alone.

If she fails . . . then things will become impossible for everyone.

But September has already begun making new friends in Fairyland, including Saturday — a mysterious boy who is helping her on her quest.

Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea - Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

If you enjoyed the warm-hearted found family theme of The House in the Cerulean Sea, then you will absolutely adore Ocean at the End of the Lane.


A middle-aged man returns to his childhood home in Sussex, England to attend a funeral.

Although the house he lived in is long gone, he is drawn to the farm at the end of the road, where he encountered a most remarkable girl named Lettie Hempstock when he was seven.

He hasn’t thought of Lettie in decades, but as he sits by the pond behind their old house and recalls how she spoke to him, he remembers a past that is too strange and frightening to have happened to anyone — let alone a small boy.

But magical and comforting Lettie promised to protect him no matter what happened.

Wrapping Up

Comforting books are a wonderful resource for anyone feeling isolated or down. They make for excellent companions on lonely nights or days when work is particularly stressful.

I hope you enjoyed my list of books like The House in the Cerulean Sea and found at least one new book to add to your reading list!

0 Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.