Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

14 Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo to Break Your Heart

0 Shares
0
0

I recently finished a book that made me feel a new feeling of pain that I just knew existed. Strangely, many of you seem to like this feeling, but I’m happy to help you find more books like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

In the list below, I have picked books that are either similar in terms of the themes, storylines, emotions, or all of them combined.

As usual, make sure to check each book’s age rating, like how you previously checked the age rating of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Taylor Jenkins Reid has another book written in the same memoir style as Evelyn Hugo. It’s called Daisy Jones and the Six.

In this book, you will read stories from members of a band in rising: about their songs to a forbidden love.

I personally love The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo quite a bit more, but they both are comparable and definitely have a similar vibe.

Also, the Hulu adaptation of this book is set to release in March 2023. So, it’s a great pick to read now!

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Who said Taylor Jenkins Reid’s universe is better than MCU?

You can technically read her books in a stand-alone manner. But if you decide to read one of her books, I suggest you read her other books, including Malibu Rising.

In this book, you will meet minor characters from The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, and it’s just as entertaining and believable.

City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert

City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert

Okay, we will move on to books written by someone else from this point.

Gilbert’s City of Girls has a similar vibe to Evelyn Hugo. In fact, it feels very alike, which I’m not complaining about.

It has the same historical type of story and is a fantastic book that is hard to put down.

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki

Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo - The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki

As the title suggests, this book follows Marjorie Post, the heiress to the fortune of Cereal Company.

I bet you will be reminded of Evelyn Hugo throughout this biographical fiction.

June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

If your favorite part of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is the intriguing story of old Hollywood from a modern perspective, you will like June.

The plot and characters are easy to make you dive into the book.

Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer

Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo - Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer

Personally, I don’t understand why you would rip your heart again after reading The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

Though, if that’s your thing, I have the right recommendation for you.

The premise of Letters to the Lost is completely in contrast with Evelyn Hugo. But both books are similar in the theme of grief and how it connects the main characters.

It’s an emotional rollercoaster and a compelling story, perfect for breaking your heart.

Siren Queen by Nghi Vo

Siren Queen by Nghi Vo

Siren Queen is one of the books like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo that has an old Hollywood feel.

However, this one comes with a twist: it contains fantasy, specifically the fae magic element in the story. That is surely a plus, right?

The Chosen and the Beautiful by Nghi Vo

The Chosen and the Beautiful by Nghi Vo

I chose another book by Nghi Vo for this list because The Chosen and the Beautiful is a great retelling of The Great Gatsby that has a similar vibe to The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

For my favorite target audience, I just want to confirm that this book features queer characters. Thank you.

The Unravelling of Cassidy Holmes

Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo - The Unravelling of Cassidy Holmes

The corruption of fame is a huge part of Evelyn Hugo’s story.

In this book, you will feel a similar gripping sense about it again, though in a different era.

Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell

Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell

A band’s history is unveiled in this David Mitchell’s work, from how they got together until they got famous.

Like in The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, you will also meet celebrities other than them in the late 60s to early 70s.

The Husband’s Secret by Lianne Moriarty

The Husbands Secret by Lianne Moriarty

One of my favorite parts about Evelyn Hugo is the plot twist at the end, which answers the mystery of why Evelyn finally decided to tell her life story to Monique.

If you also like that part of the book, you might like The Husband’s Secret, which also reveals everything at the end.

Full Service by Scotty Bowers

Full Service by Scotty Bowers

Scotty Bowers’ Full Service is one of the books similar to The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo because they both have the same theme.

It’s another historical book about glamorous old Hollywood stars in the 40s to early 80s.

The Heart’s Invisible Furies by John Boyne

Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo - The Hearts Invisible Furies by John Boyne

If you have read Evelyn Hugo’s story, you must know how she hides his sexuality from the world.

The Heart’s Invisible Furies also tells a life story of a man that had to do the same thing.

In this amazing book, you will also find a connection between his past and present.

Circe by Madeline Miller

Circe by Madeline Miller

The theme of both Circe and Evelyn Hugo might not seem similar at a glance. However, after you read this book, you will notice some parallels between the two.

In Circe, you’ll also follow a story of a complicated female character over the years, which will make you feel thankful after knowing her.

Wrapping Up

Taylor Jenkins Reid has her own unique style, and it’s impossible to find a story exactly similar to what she wrote.

Even so, I hope you find some books like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo on my list that interest you.

Have you read any of the stories above? If so, do you agree that those are similar to each other?

0 Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like