covers of what to read after acotar

What to Read After Acotar: 10 Great Fantasy Romance Books

0 Shares
0
0

Do you want to know what to read after Acotar (A Court of Thorns and Roses) by Sarah J. Maas?

If so, you’ve come to the right place — because I know there’s nothing like being enthralled in a book series, then finishing the last book and staring at the blank inside cover for days.

What to Read After Acotar

Here are my ten recommendations on what to read after Acotar which may become your new favorites:

1. House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

Bryce Quinlan lived a fast-paced life of working and parties. But when a demon murdered her friends, she mourned the loss of her closest companions and questioned everything she knew about herself. Now, with the accused locked up but the crimes continuing, Bryce realizes that she will have to do whatever it takes to find justice for those who were taken from her.

Enslaved by the Archangels he once tried to overthrow, Hunt Athalar is now helping Bryce find a demon wreaking havoc in the city to earn his freedom. They both plunge into the heart of Crescent City together, unaware of the dark forces they will discover and the passions they will ignite.

2. Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Scarlett Dragna is the daughter of a powerful and cruel father who lives on a tiny island. She dreams of seeing and participating in the annual Caraval show — and when Scarlett’s father arranges a marriage for her, she knows it’s time to escape and visit the only place she’s ever wanted.

Scarlett had no idea what was coming when a mysterious sailor helped her and her sister Tella go to the Caraval. She arrived at the show only to discover that Tella had been kidnapped by Legend, the mastermind behind the show. Seemingly, Tella is the center of this season’s Caraval, and whoever finds her first wins.

During the elaborate game of Caraval, Scarlett is told that the entire experience is only a performance. Despite this, she must find her missing sister, or all will be lost.

3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Celaena, an assassin, is summoned to compete in a competition for her freedom — she must defeat twenty-three thieves, warriors, and killers. If she wins the competition, she will be released from prison to serve as the king’s champion.

When Celaena’s competitors drop like flies, she realizes that her fight for freedom becomes a race against time to save the world from an evil power.

4. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Alina Starkov knows she’s a misfit, but she never guessed that she had magical powers — until her best friend was injured in an attack, and Alina used magic to save him.

Now Alina is being trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling. But nothing in her new life is what it seems. And Alina soon finds herself at the center of a tangled web of deceit and dark secrets.

5. A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Prince Rhen, the heir of Emberfall, is cursed to relive the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over again until a girl falls in love with him. But the hope of finding such love disappears when he turns into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction.

Hope floods back Rhen’s heart when he finds Harper, a girl who seems to be the one he’s been waiting for. But the Emberfallen still face ruin. Powerful forces stand against them, and a broken curse won’t be enough to save them.

6. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

In a world divided between the Silver ruling class and the Red commoners, Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl, discovers that she has more power than anyone else in the kingdom and that she may be able to use her abilities to overthrow those who have oppressed her people for so long.

At the oppressed and brutalized heart of a rigidly divided society, Mare uncovers a conspiracy by the Silvers to prolong their dominion over the Reds. But will she be able to stop it?

7. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

A young scholar and a descendant of witches named Diana Bishop stumbles upon a long-lost enchanted alchemical manuscript deep in Oxford’s Bodleian Library. When she touches the manuscript, she is swept into a fantastical underworld. There she meets vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont, and together they embark on an adventure.

8. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Jude has lived in the High Court of Faerie realm since she was seven with her two sisters after their parents were murdered. Ten years later, Jude is still there, trying to fit in despite being human. But not all fey like human beings. Especially the youngest and cruelest son of the High King, Prince Cardan.

To win a place at the Court, Jude must defy him — even though he has the power to destroy everything she holds dear.

9. Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

Elisabeth has known since she was a little girl that all sorcerers are evil, so she hopes to become a warden and protect the kingdom from their power. Raised in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among grimoires — magical books that can turn into grotesque monsters.

When an act to sabotage the Great Library goes awry, it releases the most dangerous grimoire in history. Elisabeth, who has been taught to hate sorcerers, must rely on an enemy — the sorcerer Nathaniel Thorn — for help to restore order to the world. As their alliance deepens, Elisabeth begins questioning everything she has been taught about sorcerers, magic, and herself.

10. Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Louise le Blanc left her coven two years ago and lived off whatever she could steal in the city of Cesarine. But the city is just one of many places where witches like her are hunted and burned.

Reid Diggory’s life, on the other hand, was dedicated to killing witches — and one day, he finds himself hunting Louise, which takes an unexpected turn once they discover feeling toward each other. Their differences cause problems, but they can’t deny that something grows between them.

There you have my picks on what to read after Acotar. If it’s interested you, I’ve also written another book recommendation that you can find here: 3 Horror Books Recommendations.

Summary

The best way to deal with having your heart broken when your favorite book finishes is to find a new book to love. Hopefully, these recommendations on what to read after Acotar will be something you’re looking for. To be safe, you can just choose other Sarah J. Maas books, Throne of Glass or House of Earth and Blood.

0 Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.